National Awards2018-03-26T08:59:55+00:00

The 2016 Albert B. Corey Award

As part of its Leadership in History Awards Program, the American Association of State and Local History awarded the Glencoe Historical Society its 2016 Albert B. Corey Award, its most prestigious recognition for achievement in the preservation and interpretation of state and local history.  GHS was selected as the organization that best displays vigor, scholarship and imagination in its work for the GHS Wright in Glencoe centennial celebration.  The AASLH Awards Committee reviewed more than 130 nominated museums in 38 different states.  GHS is the first Illinois organization to win this award.

History News, the national publication of the American Association of State and Local History, features an article promoting the GHS Wright in Glencoe celebration as a model for other communities in its August 2016 issue.  Click here to get a copy of the article.

The 2016 Wright Spirit Award

The Glencoe Historical Society also received the 2016 Wright Spirit Award in the public category from the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy.  This national award recognizes efforts of extraordinary individuals and organizations who have preserved the legacy of Frank Lloyd Wright through their tireless dedication and persistent efforts.

The Conservancy honored GHS for its series of community events to celebrate the centennial of Ravine Bluffs.  The award feted Wright in Glencoe activities “not just for pulling off a successful centennial celebration, but for prominently positioning Glencoe on the world-wide Wright stage and for its continuing research and stewardship of Ravine Bluffs, ensuring the Wright spirit and legacy in Glencoe will continue for many years to come.”

GHS now joins the ranks of a prestigious list of prior honorees that includes the S.C. Johnson Foundation, the Guggenheim Museum and the Marin Country Civic Center.